Rings, Poetry and Paint

This sums up pretty much what I do. The ring, which is .999% silver and dichroic glass, represents the artisan. I  have played around with metalsmithing and pottery pretty seriously since high school, and have dabbled in many other crafts.  The watercolor represents the art aspect. I also write. I’ve had poetry and short prose works published, and I’m currently working on a novel.

(My website http://www.elisabethmiles.com shows much of the artwork I’ve done in the past fifteen or so years. I have a newer version of it that incorporates the writing and jewelry, and will get that up as soon as I finish up a few details.)

Making art has always been such a part of me that I can’t imagine not doing it. I love the making, but have never really valued it as real work, and thus have not let it support me in any fiscal way. That’s sad, because in not valuing this gift, I have not honed and improved it as I might have. I think that as a society we do not value the arts as much as they should be. We artists have the same societal mind-set, and too many of us are dabblers who rely on our “day jobs” to support ourselves.

My great hope is that this upcoming generation sees the arts as necessity for human-ness, and encourages young artists, artisans, musicians, writers, dancers, actors and all who “have talent” as much as those who have a knack for math and science. We need it all.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Rings, Poetry and Paint

  1. Rose L

    Another idea–your life is so filled with wonderful stories and experiences from your travels…you can share that–the thoughts, feelings, scents, sounds, experience, education…

  2. Rose L

    There is a feeling of peace when you work on creating something. I feel less stressed. After it is done, the feeling of accomplishment is wonderful. People nowadays often do not realize how much time, effort and a part of you goes into the creations, let alone cost of materials, and if you try to seel them they often say things like: That is too expensive-or-I can do it myself for less (but they never do)- or-I can find it cheaper elsewhere. That wounds the ego a bit. We must pat ourselves on the back and take the enjoyment we get out of the creativity!

  3. Elisabeth Miles

    I think Roxie summed up part of it. We are taught not to brag or show off, just like we are taught not to vote for ourselves (and how dumb is that?). But not bragging seems to have mutated into not sharing the cool things we do, then to not sending out our stories and artwork and whatever.

    But not valuing artwork as much as rocket science is something our society has been doing for a while now.

  4. Roxie

    Good girls don’t brag. And we’re such good girls, aren’t we?

  5. Lisa Nowak

    Oh, I do know that disease of not valuing the work you do. I was just thinking about this today. I wish I knew how to get over it.

Leave a Reply

